Gripper - #3 for 8 reps MMS

2HP – 74kg

RT – 87kg

Strict Sledge Hammer Deadlift 5kg/11lbs hammer grabbing behind 27”

Plate curl – rep 15kg easily. Sloppy singles with 20kg plates

Steel bending

DO – 6.5” Edgin big wraps, BattleBar Ironmind pads

DU – Insane Bastard, Shiny Bastard

Reverse – always in IMP’s or sub 1” leathers, 7” 470lbs bar full bend, Sexabastard and Edgin partial 10 degree bends

Horseshoe – Werkmann Special Hind #4 to 160 degrees

Long braced – 28”x20mm HRS

Short braced – 4”x3/8” Sivaco spike. 7”x7/16 MOAB.

I was first introduced to grip back in 2002. I suffered a wrist injury in my left wrist that I sustained during a snatch in a weightlifting comp back in 2005. The injury lingered with me and interrupted my grip and regular strength training. It wasn’t until 2007 when I started training my wrists directly that my wrist recovered and eventually got stronger than I ever was before the injury. I started steel bending that year. Over the years I’ve experimented with a lot of different training ideas. I’ve made most of my gains in the steel bending by doing different types of isometric exercises and dynamic exercises focused on both hitting and developing the muscles associated with a movement and carefully under controlled movements load up the joints in order to strengthen them as well. I’ve put much attention to technique and it has enabled me to bend some relatively impressive steel over the years.

I can answer any questions on steel bending, both on training and technique. I’ve got a lot of ideas on sledge levering and wrist training, working all the different muscles associated with ulnar/radial deviation, flexion and extension, supination and pronation. I wouldn’t call myself an expert on grip training. The other gentlemen in the well are far more knowledgeable on that than me, but with that in mind, if anyone wants to know about my grip training I’d be happy to answer those questions too.

• Like 6