Old School - Ruggedcanuck's Training Log

RuggedCanuck

Firstly, a little background:

I have been weightlifting for a couple years already with my focus being on all-round lifting. Some of my interests include pulling-lifts, grip work, and steel bending.

Recently I have started training at a more old school gym, which means I will be able to practice Farmer's Walks, one-arm lifting, push-jerks, etc more frequently.

My workouts are generally taken 3x per week, with an emphasis on heavy back work, overhead lifts, and grip. I do all my training without lifting aids of any sort.

Next workout is on Monday. Giving one-arm military presses a go!

• Like 4

Welcome!!!

• Like 1

Whats your focus in grip?

Crushing and rending/tearing strength is what I'd like to focus on the most. My uncle, in his 70s now, could legitimately tear phonebooks when he was younger - so that would be nice to live up to.

Some of the lifts I work on/want to use to develop this are: thick bar lifts, pinch gripping, rectangular fixes, etc done at the end of every workout. Feat-specific practice when I can.

Edited by RuggedCanuck

Of course, if you have any tips I'd be glad to hear them. It's only recently that I have been focusing more intensely on grip work; getting most of my information from articles back in the 30s/40s/50s.

I've ripped 1000 page phonebooks.

There is a trick you know!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NHQdtyoiR08my hottest tip!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=zp3QY1jisG4

Edited by PeterSweden
  • Like 1

I've ripped 1000 page phonebooks.

There is a trick you know!

Yes, there is a trick version. haha

I think playing cards would be neat...

Edited by RuggedCanuck

I edited my earlier post while u answered.

I edited my earlier post while u answered.

Saw that. Thanks for the video!

It would be nice if I could do a phonebook without any tricks, but steel bending and grip lifts are more interesting to me.

Trained on a few new movements today.