Feedback On Beginners Rutine

tewic

Hey Gripboard.

I recently got interested in developing my grip. I have just acquired a Captain of Crush #0.5 and #1 of which I were just able to close both from a no-set position. I will be getting #2 very soon.

After having read numerous of articles, I tried making a grip rutine for myself, which I hope you would give some feedback to, as I have little experience with direct grip training. My grip has only been trained through the exercises I do to get better at powerlifting.

I have the following grip related goals:

• 200 kg double OH deadlift
  • CoC #2.5 credit card close
  • 150 kg double OH fat bar deadlift
  • 75 kg rolling thunder lockout

The cycle is as follows:

• Week 1: Medium volume – medium intensity
  • Week 2: High volume – Low intensity
  • Week 3: Low volume – High intensity
  • Week 4: High volume – medium intensity
  • Week 5: Deload – no grip specific training.

Next to the grip training I workout 4-5 times a week, for powerlifting. For the first cycle I will do a set less and a round less in all the exercises, to start out easy. After a few cycles I think of adding lever work, but for now I think there's plenty new exercises to focus on.

Week 1 (medium volume - medium intensity)

Day 1:

Rolling thunder: 4x10-15 sek

2 hand plate pinch thumb+pinky+ring finger: 4x10-15 sek

Extension band: 3x10

Day 2:

CoC #1 parallel set 5 reps – CoC #2 negative (5 sec): 5 rounds

2 hand plate pinch: 4x10-15 sek

Day 3:

CoC #1 parallel set 5 reps – CoC #2 negative (5 sec): 5 rounds

Rolling thunder: 4x10-15 sek

Week 2 (high volume - low intensity)

Day 1:

CoC #0.5 credit card set: 4x5

CoC #0.5 hold: 2x max time

Rolling thunder: 5x10-15 sek

Extension band: 3x15

Day 2:

CoC #0.5 parallel set: 3x10

2 hand plate pinch: 5x10-15 sek

Day 3:

CoC #0.5 credit card set: 4x5

Week 3 (low volume – high intensity)

Day 1:

CoC #1 credit card set crush – CoC #2 negative (5 sec): 5 rounds

Rolling thunder lockout: 3x5