Grippers Of Madness

John McCarter

For the people who know me from the IronMind forum, thought I come over to the G.B. and thought I start a training log since I'm here. I'll update this log when I can.

Good to see you posting here John. Look forward to following your progress.

• Like 1

Good to see you posting here John. Look forward to following your progress.

Thanks. By the way, I tested myself out this morning on a hard 3 I have, it went down very easy, the #3 cert will be coming within the next month.

• Like 1

For those who are not familiar with myself, I’ve been training grip for five years now (I’ve never really been on forums that much, except in the case of the last year or so), until November of 2011, I was going nowhere and I had enough of it, over the next few months, I became truly determined to close the #3. I started looking at how I could improve, even if it was just a slight movement in a millimeter. I started using grip machines, which are the one aspects of my grip training which by far have facilitate my grip farther than just regular gripper use. Negatives are my main choice when I work my hands; I have done Joe Kinney style workouts (after I did my 3rd 60 rep workout on my secret weapon, I will never do that again), but I focus using about 9-15 singles on the Secret Weapon, always working on ways to improve the weight I’m using. (All the grippers I use have not been rated, so whatever I'm crushing on grippers, I have no clue what it is.)

Grip work 5/27/2012

1) Warm Up Gripper: 3x3 (GHP Level 4, TNS/Full Closes).

2) Secret Weapon: 9x10 seconds (156 lbs).

3) IronMind Hub Pinch Grip: 4x1 (62 lbs).

4) Wrist Roller: 4x10 (backwards and forwards) (156 lbs).

5) Expand your hand Bands: 5x20 seconds (Red Band).