How Long Will It Take Me To Close The #3

abcampbell

My name is Alex Campbell and I am new to the site. I have been gripping the CoC's for over 3 years. I started with the 1 which I could not close the first time (was able to close it ina few weeks), moved to the #2 which I was able to close after a few months, got the 3 which I was not eve close, got the 2.5 and was able to close it over a year ago.

Now I am back ont eh trail of hitting the #3. I was shy of getting to parallel, so I decided to try an high volume routine of a #2 close every hour for 8 hours straight 5 days a week. It got me to past parallel. That routine stalled out and I actually started to regress after several months.

I have been using a 3 day routine of max attempts, over crushes, and negatives. I have also been taking my max attempts (#3) with a choked gripper that was to where I coud squeeze it without a clamp (just past parallel). I have been doing this for less than 2 months.

I took of the clamp this week and was able to close the #3 to 8mm using the IM measuring tool.

HOw much longer until I can close it? WIll it be weeks, months, years?

I will also say that I have been doing bending work on Sat, some pinch work after gripper on Wed. Rehab stuff 1-2 days a week (extension bands, ball squeezes, etc.)

MY new year's resolution was to close the #3 and it seems I have been working so long to just go from just beynd parallel to 8mm, but I also know as that springs spreads it gets tougher.

Thanks

There is no good answer for how long. It's up to you and what you're capable of. It took me 2-3 years of dedicated training. I lived and breathed grippers and constantly tried to learn anything I could. It has taken 8-10 years of dedicated work for some. Other guys close it on their first try.