proper stance for wrist roller

Guest badkarma67

Guest badkarma67

o.k...like i said i`m new at this...my roller is all together..now..do i hold my arms straight out when doing it or do i let them rest on my stomach??do i sit or do i stand??...is it personal preference??

sorry i`m so ignorant on this stuff but i`m enjoying every second of learning.

I find that the best position is behind my back - or right below my butt to be more precise. Behind the body in any case.

Badkarma,

Personally, when I started training with the wrist roller, I held my arms directly in front of me. In my opinion, doing the rolling this way will fry your grip the soonest. However, the problem in doing the rolling this way is that when you get to anything above 5-8 kg, you'll shoulders are bound to get tired a lot sooner than your grip.

This is why I currently do my wrist rolling on an elevated surface ( a bench or a chair for me) as suggested to me by Dr. Tom. Doing the rolling this way isn't as tiring as doing it the arms in front way, but it'll definately do a lot of good for you.

Of course you can try all kinds of different ways, like doing it behind your back as suggested by Solan, or you can try doing it sitting. Though you need one heck of a tall chair to do it sitting :)

Good luck in your training

Guest climber

badkarma67

What I did was put the pin in my power rack through my wrist roller.  (It's made of 2" OD pipe).  That pretty much takes the shoulders out of the movement.  It feels to me like the behind the back version hits my forearms in a different way than the standard version so I do both ways but in different workouts.  My first wrist roller was smaller diameter (1") and it worked my forearms in a different way than my 2" roller does.  The 2" one really works my extensors hard compared the a smaller bar.  The small bar worked mostly "the belly" of the muscle closer to the elbow while the fat bar works me more completely from elbow to wrist.  Good Luck - Climber