Ok So I Competed In My First Aw Contest

hugh..mongus

I won the heavy weight right hand division and got 3rd in the leftys a week and a day ago.

that was all well and good, but ever since monday my elbows have had me eating pain killers like skittles, and i NEVER take pain killers! i would definately say its tendon/lig strain. even trying squats is murder on my elbows from trying to hold onto the wieght

what is my best bet to speed recovery. i took thios past week off training, but i did still have to work*im a roofer* and that played its toll on me as well. i managed to get threw some squats yesterday but paid the price after.

Congrats for winning your first comp.

Lots of fish oil, glucosomine/chronitin(sp), self massage on the inflamed areas, ice and anti-inflammatory.

Most of all rest , if u can't like me, keep elbows warm with elbow supports.

For me, ice and ibuprofen help but with or without the aforementioned it's two weeks off after a hard practice or tourny. It sucks but I've spun my wheels long enough to know what needs to be done. If I try any less than that I usually feel good for about 1 match/hard set of chins/whatever that uses those muscles and then I'm back to square one with the beloved knife-in-bones AW pain we all love so much.

well i plan to rest up this week as well, i figured it took about a week for my left to feel better and the right was worse fromthe start so 2 weeks should have that feeling better. i just started with the ice, a buddy fromt he gym said alternating warm and cold help his groin strain alot. i talked to a pharmicist today about what would be best, ibuprofen was her best recomendation.

thanks for the advice and the congrats guys!