Rolling Thunder Carry Over

WPGGuy

Hi Everyone. I'm fairly new to grip strength training and I'm trying to figure out how far into this I want to go. I've purchased IM grippers and have closed the No. 2, and I've been working on pinch grip as well. Since I live in Winnipeg, Canada (hence the screen name), I likely won't ever have a chance to train with other serious grippers, so my primary goal will likely continue to be whole body strength, the big three in particular. I also live in an apartment, so space is at a premium, and I definitely don't have room for all the training equipment that I would like to have. Because of this, I train at the gym at my university (which is also included in the tuition so it's cheap).

With that in mind, I was wondering if buying a RT, plus loading pin and weight would be worth it for me. I plan on having a home gym once I get a house, so buying plates isn't too big of a deal (except for the space they'll take up while I'm in my apartment), but what I want to know is if there is any carry-over benefit to overall strength from using the RT. Is the RT effective for supplementary back workouts, or is grip such a limiting factor that the RT is only really good for grip workouts?

Thanks.

but what I want to know is if there is any carry-over benefit to overall strength from using the RT.

Very much so, at least in my case. I've done little else but RT for months now, and my pinch and grippers have improved, not to mention my support grip. It doesn't have to be RT though. Thick bar in general is a great overall strength builder (regular diameter is great too).

-Rex

On reading your post again, I think you may be asking whether the RT would promote overall body strength when used in place of regular handles on things like rows. It's hard to tell from what you wrote.