# 2

tomfitz

how long did it take most here to close the # 2 ?. i got it to about 1/8th of an inch out of the bag. i've been training grip for about 4 months or so and just want to compare my progress. thanks.

5 reps out of the bag with the #2. I don't have a #2 anymore since I filed the handles down at 3 inches. The former #2 is now a 2.7 or 2.8.

I'm at the same point as you but with the #3. This 1/8 seems like forever to close.

Train hard and you'll do it pretty soon.

Guest GripMonster

I got my #2 a few weeks after getting my #1, and at that point I closed it for 7 reps.  Two friends of mine have also closed it after a few months of very irregular training (neither did any grip work during the summer).  A friend of mine in Bulgaria closed my #2 on his second or third attempt and then held it shut for 3 sets of 20 seconds with either hand.  Also, a guy in the gym where I train closed my BBMaster on his first try and got my #3 to 1/4 inch about a minute later (with no chalk or warmup).  He also toyed with my #2, remarking that it was a lot easier than the other grippers.  I think he has used the trainer from time to time, but that's it.  Incidentally, his hands are big and he can deadlift around 750.  I'll try to get him to warm up, use chalk, and close my #3 next week.

I think I did 3 reps straight from the bag.  I wasn't even close to my #3.  I had been training grip for maybe a month.  I got my T and #1 on Dec 25 and I got my #2 and #3 on Jan 20, I think.  

Guest Luke Reimer