Do Big Arms Matter?

Aftershock

Well, i have had my fair share of armwrestles, and most of them are from asking people i have never seen before. Of course I check to see if they would give me a challenge, and to my surprise some dudes with huge arms were some of the easiest ive ever beaten. I am a body weight trainer and i use the IM's in my grip workout so my arms are not huge mounds of muscle. All of those dudes were weightlifters and had a bench of around 300 and deadlifts of 400 and yet i can still thrash them. So i have come to the conclusion that weights and having huge arms doesn't make you a star armwrestler. And yes there are exceptions. What do you all think?

it dont matter how big your arms are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! armwrestling is tendon strength.

I think big arms are the general rule and small arms are the exeption.

Large arms are not required in order to be a successful armwrestler. On the world level many armwrestlers do, infact, have large arms, but that's a given. Armwrestling is a specialized sport with a specialized set of movements. Strength is needed to perform technique, however not all strength correlates into size. The dynamic movement of the biceps contracting is not often used in armwrestling, and subsequently bicep size has little bearing success at the table. Larger muscles do provide a larger base for your tendons, however, so size can sometimes be indicative of potential, but that's really dependant on a myriad of other factors.

I think big arms are the general rule and small arms are the exeption.

Much more realistic. I hate the term "tendon strength", btw. You need BOTH strong tendons and strong muscles, not just one or the other. ANd frankly, if you are training for strength you will have both.

Taras' arms look bigger than Brzenk's and John manhandled him in their last supermatch.

Marcio B. and Vovoeda have some MONSTER arms they're two of the best in the world