Side Pressure

Patrik_F

Hello everyone!

I am a beginner at armwrestling and need to have much better sidepressure. I am trying to figure out what side pressure is all about.

Is a good sidepressure more about technique or is it certain specific small tendons/ligaments that needs to be strengthened to be able to have good sidepressure? Timing? Speed? What is it most about?

Hello everyone!

I am a beginner at armwrestling and need to have much better sidepressure. I am trying to figure out what side pressure is all about.

Is a good sidepressure more about technique or is it certain  specific small tendons/ligaments that needs to be strengthened to be able to have good sidepressure? Timing? Speed? What is it most about?

Pure strength is what its mostly about IMO....you can't have good side pressure without strength.....

The problem with developing side pressure is that it takes a really long time, because the muscles involved are so small and not accustomed to heavy loads. If you do too much too quickly you'll hurt yourself.

Side pressure comes from medial rotation of the humerus, as well as shoulder adduction. It's as important to armwrestling as back pressure, hand and wrist strength, speed, endurance... all in combination. You can get by with some of those, but you need all of them to really excel.

Are we talking months and years? I have noticed that just those muscles are especially vulnerable, and very easily starts to ache after a few pulls.

I was thinking to develop "base" strength with some simple springs I have attached to my powerrack to simulate the sidepressure movement.

factor that in, but dont do just that, work on overall strength.