Hand Size

Patrik_F

What are the pros and cons of having a big/small hand in armwrestling? What technique or tactics could you use to your advantage depending on hand size of you and your opponent?

I have seen some video clips of John Brzenk, as far as I can see he has pretty small hands?

Big hands make it easier to controll another guys hands and make it easier to pull outside especially toprolling. you can overcome this thought with strong hands. Some of the best pullers in the world have small hands. Im new to this sport so if any of my info is off base let me know guys! lol

Austin

I'm also a newbie but i know that it is very hard to get a good grip on someone that has a very thick hand. Hand thickness may be of bigger importance than hand lenght?

I have pulled a little in training against one of the best heavyweights here in Sweden; Ralf Johansson , and he has extremly thick hands, very powerfull too of course.

Hello Golgotha!

Long time, no see. Yes, that makes sense, hand thickness and the structure of the hand certainly also plays a big role. I have seen Ralf Johansson on the Legends of Armwrestling DVD, he looked powerful. How does it feel to pull against him? Completely unstoppable? How much do you weigh btw?

Hello Patrik! Well i can't move Ralfs arm a mm no matter what i do! It feels like he's made of stone !:bow It's hard to understand how strong the top pullers really are until you pull against them.

My weight is 97kg.

Edited by golgotha

I feel that hand size in armwrestling can be an asset or a curse depending on how the puller uses it. It is just like any other physical body parts. Technically guys with shorter arms have a better leverage advantage but if a guy with a long forearm learns how to use it to his advantage watch out.