To those who work grip multiple times per week

Guest Scott Clayton

Guest Scott Clayton

Since I started training with Heath, we've been beating up our hands pretty bad.  Sometimes 3, hard heavy workouts a week together, plus what ever little stuff we do on our own.

I'm gonna drop the intensity down a little for awhile, but I'd still like to do a few grip workouts a week.  What kinds of programs are you guys on?  How many diferent grip exercises do you do per session? per week?   How hard do you train?

Thanks in advance

I sure don't have the experience that some guys here have, but here's my take.  For as much as lower arm training seems to be the same as full-body strength training, it's so very different for me.  I don't follow a set program for lower arm work.  I really pay attention to what my hands and forearms are telling me and go by that, both in exercises performed and in the intensity of those exercises.  I been having one or two days of complete rest per week lately and I usually don't do more than a couple of exercises per session.

One thing I've found when working on wrist strength:  barbell wrist curls use the least crushing strength (as opposed to wrist roller or lever bar work), which is important for me, as I'm saving that for grippers right now.

Hope I've been some small help.

BC.

Guest Scott Clayton

Thanks.  

I'd never thought about the wrist curls being easier on the crushing muscles than the wrist roller.  

On the barbell wrist curls, do you let the bar roll all the way down your fingers?  Do you go off your knees or a bench?  This is one exercise I've never really been too comfortable with.

Hi Scott-