Fish Db Replica Thread

bwwm

Got a quote back from IMS. ~$100 for 1 ft of 4" CRS. I need to stop in and see if they have large circular steel billets in the 25lb range. That would put it at about 93# and have at least the same handle OD. Thinking of saving up, and purchasing the pieces this Fall. Then see if I can find somebody to weld it up by the end of the year.

• Like 1

Please excuse my lack of knowledge, but what is a fish dumbbell?

Nope, something else entirely. Haha

There is a video of mark Henry lifting it... I can't find it right now , but search for it...

I'll weld it up for you Martin. Just bring the pieces down. We could prolly clean up the ends and chamfer the edges on the lathe as well before welding.

- Aaron

• Like 3

Thanks Aaron! I will get to designing this thing up.

I am no expert, but I will share something Adam mentioned to me about a handle that wide being dangerous for most people, excepting those with exceptionally large hands.

I am no expert, but I will share something Adam mentioned to me about a handle that wide being dangerous for most people, excepting those with exceptionally large hands.

Mike, can you elaborate?

Reason I ask is when I think about atlas stones, slopers on climbing walls, even the pull-ups I've done on 6" OD pipe swings at the in-laws park, it's not clear to me what the danger is. I agree one has to condition wrists, etc. if one intends to clean & press it as Mark Henry did, but just a deadlift shouldn't be too bad right?

• Like 1

Come to think of it, blobs are >4", and can run in the mid 50's, and even low 60's (Blobzilla). Ironically, I have a Blobzilla, and can drag it. Haven't lifted it yet.