Bending Routine Question

GrassMaine89

My name is Josh and I live in rural Maine. I am not a frequent poster but I am a frequent lurker. I have been interested in feats of grip strength (mostly crush, bending, and rolling thunder) since high school (currently 25 years old).

Now for my real reason for posting. I work as a Children's Residential Counselor. I work with children with often severe abuse histories, behavioral problems, and often times suicidality. I am currently working with a couple of residents who are very interested in grip and bending steel. I have four days in which to work with them, Sunday through Wednesday. Just an fyi, one kid is approximately 5'9 and weights around 160 or 170. On his first ever day bending he bent a yellow nail. The next time he bent he bent a blue nail. He has now bent numerous blue nails and is currently working on slaying a grade 5 1/4 X 6 bolt. This is a kid who has not been engaged in any other exercise besides maybe pushups and air squats in his room.

I am wondering if there is a way to work grippers and bending with these kids. Currently we have been bending on Sunday and Wednesday and working grippers all four days (negatives sometimes and strap holds on other days). I know this is a lot but I just wanted to ignite there passion for something other than negative coping skills, not to mention its nice to see young kids excited about something other than benching. Now that I have them hooked I'm wondering if there is a way for me to work there crushing grip strength and there bending with only four days a week. I do not have the time to work split sessions so my only options is a 1-2 hour workout sessions. Thank you guys very much for reading and any responses that I receive.

Josh

My name is Josh and I live in rural Maine. I am not a frequent poster but I am a frequent lurker. I have been interested in feats of grip strength (mostly crush, bending, and rolling thunder) since high school (currently 25 years old).