Axle

Mike Sharkey

Just got my Sorinex Axle. Wanted to post here saying its fantastic! Coating is great texture and it came in a week. I'm new to axle training, but i can't recommend this bar enough!

• Like 2

how does it compare to the IM?.. in terms of texture - i was tentative because it looks to be powdercoated

Chez says the IM one is smooth. This one is powdercoated, but I love it. also the IM one is like 250$ plus $1100 dollars for shipping. :tongue

He says he pretty much pulls the same.

• Like 1

you could always strip the powder coat if you wanted to.

yeah i think with a sander it would be no problem. However, I actually like it.

I think Andrew was talking to Richard about making and selling a bare steel model???

A natural or sandblasted finish while prone to sweat and atmospheric conditions is the closest you can get to a one on one pure steel contact. Seasoning in particular natural seasoning will form a tough hard brown patina that like a fine old rifle barrel having a brown coating and give a great gripping surface.If used a a regular basis red (active rust ) will halt and turn into the brown, long lasting shell. Our bars like the original Apollon Bell used is 1.9" in diameter. If you want a custom finish we can do it ...just inquire by email.

I would not alter the Axle, Mike. I would just train on it religiously and then cross-reference your PR on it versus on Chez's or someone else's IM Bar and just see how they compare.

Incidentally, all IM Axles aren't the same either. They season differently. Andrew's looks nothing like mine as far as coloring. The petina, like Richard mentioned, is at a different stage. They feel similar, but I pull more on mine. It is just something I take note of in my training.

Can't wait to hear some of the numbers you put up with it bro!

Jedd

Nothing impressive yet. 250# baseline today on Nate's smooth axle today. Goal is 300# by year end.