Du Or Do

aaronb41

I am brand new to bending. I just bought myself som IMPs, bolt cutters and 1/4 steel. Not sure if it is CRS or HRS.

After watching some videos I tried to bend a 7" 1/4 bar DO, it didn't budge. I then tried DU and bent it in about 10 secs. I then cut a 6" 1/4 bar and did that as well in about 10 secs.

My long term goal is to bend the red nail. Should I try to move forward with DU or keep trying to learn the DO technique?

Thanks for any advice or tips!

Aaron

There is absolutely no reason not to learn them all. However, if you are on a short timetable for certing the Red, it would be advisable to master DO.

Working up to a Red DU simply takes much longer (in general...there are a few DU freaks out there).

Failing to bend a bar DO that you can do DU is simply a matter of technique, not strength.

If you are not in a rush and really enjoy DU, go for it.

Frankly I have great respect for those who Cert Red DU...or RS like Ivan.

It's really a different ballgame.

• Like 1

The biggest thing I would recommend is to watch everything on this page: http://www.gripboard.com/index.php?showtopic=43922. The most important things you can do is pick a style (or styles), practice wrapping, and practice bending. Your lower arms need time to get used to this new kind of stress you are putting them under.

Make sure however, that you give yourself adequate recovery time. Some more experienced can definitely chime in here, but don't make the mistake of bending too often too early. If you take care of yourself, you could enjoy this hobby for a long time.

Edited by wulfgeat

Technique brother. DO bend is usually much easier

Maybe you are doing what I used to do when I first started bending DO, pushing on the ends of the bar and not using my index fingers at all.

Once you start using your index fingers to guide the bar to bend, you will be bending a lot stronger stuff than you can do DU.