Donati's Log Of Steel Bending, Grip And Powerlifting

Buccos1

I've been keeping a log on Bender's Battlefield for a few years. The sites been down for a few days, so I figured what better time than now to start a log here!? :grin:

Some background info:

Height: 5'9"

Weight: 195

I've been weight training for 27 years and competing in powerlifting for seven, having done about 20 meets. I started competing as a 242 (weighed 235) then decided to drop some weight, and cut down to under 200lbs. I've been about 195 for close to two years now. I also figured I'd be a lot more competitive as a 198er than 220 or 242. I competed in the Beast in the East steelbending championships last summer and took first in the LHW class. I've been bending steel for close to five years, and messing around with grippers for about the same. I recently got more involved in pinch grip and have been working a lot with the Ironmind Hub and the GripTopz, trying to improve my numbers. I'd love to do a grip comp. or two next year!

To give a perspective what my levels are (and where I'm trying to go) ...

My best numbers in powerlifting (single-ply):

Squat - 550

Bench - 440

DL - 550

My best bends/grip:

5.5" Red Nail - IMPs

505lb. x 7" drillrod - IMPs

Red Nail (DU) - BBW

5/8 x 21.8" A36

SCF Reg. Plain #000

IM Hub - 57.5

With grippers, I've come within 2-3 mm from closing the COC #2.5 with a MMS. Recently, I got a few GHP grippers and have been doing some work with the GHP5, which has been great.

• Like 5

Great to see you posting here. Look forward to following your log.

• Like 1

Great to see you posting here. Look forward to following your log.

Thanks bro! Keeping a log these past few years has really helped me push through some days when I really didn't feel like it.

Edited by Buccos1
  • Like 1

Sun (8/11)

Bench Press
(1x8) 135
(1x3) 185
(1x3) 225
(1x1) 275
(1x1) 325

(1x3) 365 - add Slingshot
(1x0) 400
(1x1) 400