Zenith #3

Evan Raftopoulos

Just got this 130 pound Zenith 3 from Matt and I was surprised that I was able to close it right away. My goal gripper is my CoC 2.5 which is not rated but feels much harder to close than this. I noticed the max rating of CoC 2.5 by CPW is 132 pounds, so I expect that mine is up there. Is it common for the Zenith grippers to feel easier to close pound to pound comparison with other grippers? Do the smooth handles make that much difference? Just wondering.

• Like 3

With my Zenith #3 I just find the handles too chunky to get a proper set. Saying that I was surprised I could close mine in comparison to my #2.5. Mine are not rated but against my SM #130, they feel just slightly weaker.

I'm no expert on grippers. But I think maybe the different shapes of the grippers will throw in some extra variables that make the numbers hard to compare between a Zenith and a regular gripper. It could be that you can only really compare the RGC rating of a Zenith gripper to another Zenith gripper. I know this is the case for steel bending where you can only compare rated bars of the exact same length. Even if it took the exact same weight to bend a 5" bar to 30 degs, a 7" bar rated to the same exact weight will still feel a TON harder.

BTW good close!

Edited by David_wigren

I believe the rgc is not measured from the same spot on the handles for the zenith as it is for normal grippers (I think he takes the measurement in the middle of the handles) so it give it a higher rgc than it actually is.

• Like 1

Great close ! On the next vid, don't point the camera at a light source like that window, it screws up the vid. Have the light above or behind you.

• Like 2

bigger spring makes the close feel way different plus thicker handles