Grip Hogs Day - Grip Contest, Pa, Usa, February 2015

Jedd Johnson

I am making the official announcement that I will be running a Grip Contest on Saturday, February 7th, 2015. This will most likely be in my garage in Wyalusing, unless I can line up another venue.

The Events and the order are not yet finalized, however, I am certain a Silver Bullet Hold will be involved as well as Two Hands Pinch.

More details regarding the contest will be put out as they are finalized.

Jedd

• Like 3

Maybe I'll come for this. A little birthday present to myself.

• Like 2

hey! im still new to grip, just wondering why "closing grippers" aren't featured as an event in most competitions?

Actually, in most competitions, they are. I am actually thinking about doing both, but not quite sure yet.

• Like 1

For this contest, we will weigh everyone in so that you can attain stats for your proper weight class, but I am thinking of running divisions a little bit differently so that people of a similar skill level can compete against one another. It will be something like this:

Novice: 1st Contest

Intermediate: Already competed in previous contest(s)

Grip veteran: If you already have a bunch of contests, certifications, and records lists under your belt you're in this class.

Expert: Elite level grip athletes

• Like 4

So am I a grip veteran???

Been thinking about the events, and this is what we are looking at, so far.

Silver Bullet - Definite

Two Hands Pinch - Definite

Pickaxe - Definite

Bull Ring - Maybe (This is a piece of equipment my equipment company has been working on for Extensor Training)

Wrist Wrench - Maybe

Two Hand Axle Deadlift - Maybe

I don't want to do more than 5 events. One of the Thick Bar events will most likely be taken out. I was toying with the idea of having a Max Gripper event as well, but have pretty much scrapped that.

Anyone have a preference between Wrist Wrench and Axle?

So am I a grip veteran???