Pat's Training Log

patrickmeniru

At the moment i generally have nobody to train with and so i find it tough to stick to routines. I'm hoping that posting here will motivate me to stick with the programme and make progress with my goals, which include:

1) Get down below 85kg bodyweight - currently 90kg

2) Close the CoC #3 MMS - currently can TNS the #2

3) Hold a front lever for 5 seconds

4) Flag hold for 5 seconds

5) General improvement in cardio-vascular conditioning for football (soccer) season

I'm a student and so not flush with a lot of cash at the moment and so i can't afford a gym membership. As a result i will be focussing on calisthenics, with the occasional gym session when i can get in with a friend, when i get back to university i will be able to use the gym facilities there for squats, dead-lifts etc.

I'm very new to grip and calisthenics, so any and all advice/criticisms would be greatly appreciated :grin:

I have no one to train with were i live as well. Posting stuff does help motovate. Good luck on your goals.

Me to. no one I know is into grip training. I'll be following your progress. Good Luck man.

Today was my first training session for a week or so, before i get into what i did, just a couple of points, when i refer to pull-ups/chins/levers i'm doing them on a 2" bar, not sure if this will help my grip or not? But it's all i have to work with at this time. Also dips are done on a couple of posts at the bottom of the stairs, approx 29" apart.

Grippers:

Warm Up - 2 x 6 store gripper, each hand

2 x 5 TNS CoC #1 each hand

3 x 5 TNS CoC #2 each hand - reps to approx 1.5" gap between handles

3 x 1 Negatives with #3 choked to 1" LH - right wrist was hurting at this point after golfing incident a few days ago, so i missed the negatives

1 x 12 second hold with #2 RH

1 x 10 second hold with #2 LH

1 x 25 TNS #1 each hand - as explosive as possible, although for both hands the last 5 reps were quite slow due to fatigue.