Chris Rice Is In The Grip Well!

Bill Piche

From Chris when I asked him to give some background on himself:

I think most members of this board know a little about me but for those who don’t here’s the basics. I’m 65 year old – 6’ 2” tall and currently about 195# bodyweight. I started on the GripBoard in 2003 so I might be considered an old timer here. I am a retired letter carrier for the US Postal Service and did a lot of physical labor along the way as a sort of second job. My main hobby is rock and mountain climbing – the weights and grip training are usually targeted towards that end – I’ve been doing it for 31 years now. Grip training is a natural take off of climbing. I have accomplished most of the “feats” of grip strength but certainly not all of them – I hope some of them elude me forever – I can’t imagine not having a carrot out there to chase. I like competition and believe they are critical for development past a certain point for all but the “freaks” among us.

I started lifting weights in 1959 so I’ve been at it quite a while now and have seen about every training method come and usually go as well – all that seems to be changing are the names the “gurus” are giving things. I have tried so many training ideas I can’t even remember the names of everything so to me there is very little “new” under the sun. I have some fairly definite ideas about training but live under a saying Franco Columbo said about training “If it works, it works, I don’t care what anyone says”.

So ask away and I’ll do my best to answer.

• Like 3

Great to have you here!
I've been waiting for another round of the well!

I've heard that you are one hell of a pincher :)

What are your philosophy behind 2h euro pinch?

What works, what doesnt?

In your training, do you focus on one thing at a time or can you train multiple diciplines alongside eachother?

I cant train grippers and thickbar and have gains. THikcbar kills my crush for example.