Log: Getting As Strong As When I Was 25 By The Time I'm 40

Royz

NO I'M NOT HAVING A MIDLIFE CRISIS.

In fact I started training with weights when I was 16 and still a track athlete. I got hooked on weights and never stopped. But I had seriously lost my focus for a bunch of years due to accumulating injuries and demands of daily life. I continued training 3 times a week, but without focus and real goals it often felt like I was just going through the motions.

About 2,5/3 years ago I 'discovered' gripsport and this started a spark in me and got me back on track again. After almost 3 years i haven't lost any of my new found enthusiasm yet. I'm still sporting many injuries but I'm getting smarter at training around them and avoiding new ones. And I do a lot of rehab on off days. I'm already the strongest I've been since I was 30.

Perhaps there are people on the board which are in a similar situation as me and maybe my log could be helpfull to them. Any advice on training, injury prevention and injury rehab would greatly be appreciated too.

Current injuries:

- Both knees are bad. Since very recently I can do deadlifts again. I can do light legpresses, but no squats for now.

- Curently mild lateral tendonitis in both elbows. I've had serious tendonitis in both elbows and both lateral and medial.

- Back of left shoulder. Can't do normal bench pressing, but I can do it with a narrower grip. Can do heavy dips, but can only do light overhead pressing. I've had numerous other shoulder injuries over the years, both left and right.

Current rehab ( I will try to expand on this in future posts):

- Shoulders: Streching and rubber tubing work 3 times a week.

- Knees: Mainly stretching every day. Quads, hamstrings, calves and hips.

- Hands/elbows: icing after every workout, stretching and massaging everyday. Eccentric wrist extensor work + twisting dumbbell 3 times a week