A beginning. Goal is #2.5... Lets go! (Part 1. )

Luke Otting

Hi everyone!

Freshman in college, have wanted to participate in the Iron game for a long time. Have an impromptu home gym (300lb of weight, 2" pipe barbell, dip station, rafters, grippers.) I want to mainly focus on grip strength, military pressing, front lever, dips, and human flag. I have lifted for several years, but I have never taken progression seriously; as a result, I am still a beginner.

Starting now, I will be logging here EVERY SINGLE DAY and recording every single exercise I do.  The workout routine I post below will be the routine I will run for the next 3 months. Try to keep me on the strait path!

• Like 1

A:

Dips 5X5

Barbell Curls 5X5

Upright Rows 3X10

Bent Over Rows 3X10

Gripper 6X3-15

B:

Deadlift Variation 3X6

Hack Squats 3X6

Military Press 6X2

Chin Ups 5X5

Optional Neck, Tricep, Forearm, ab, or Sandbag work.

1 mile sprint on off days...

11/28/16

Max Lifts:

Military Press: 160lb.

Dip: 60lb.

Chin Up: 60+lb.

Curl: 120lb.

Deadlift: 365lb.

Squat: 265+lb.

Bent Over Row: 150lb.

Gripper: #1.5 X6+

Good luck in reaching your goal. I'm a gripper guy myself. The log will definitely keep you accountable and motivated.

Get er done... remember good sleep and good nutrition will help you improve and keep injuries away. You sound about where i was when i started by the way...

My advice....don't over train (especially your hands)...injuries and over training are the bane of any true grip monster!  I know this because I did over train grip years back....I was lucky and was never injured but I made NO progress for a looooong while.

I really am prone to over-training myself, especially my hands. :/ Guilty as charged.

Didn't get a sprint in. Got home from work late. Was dark, so I did an easy workout.

Upright Rows 3X10 85lb.

Thick bar Curl 5X5 85lb.